Is It Legal To Do This In Your Truck Bed In Texas?
Driving around Texas, you see something rather interesting sometimes. You've probably either wanted to do it, or grew up doing it all the time. But the question may have crossed your mind: "is this even legal?"
Let's be real for a moment - that question always pops up right in the middle of when we're doing something questionable, doesn't it? But I digress. What in the world are we talking about here?
Well firstly, it of course involves riding in a vehicle in a rather different way. And it also involves a vehicle you see every day. So let's ask the question now:
Can You Ride In The Bed Of A Pickup Truck In Texas Without Breaking The Law?
Well thankfully, for those who want to do so, as long as you are over the age of 18, according to Texas law you can ride in back of a truck in the Lone Star State.
But if you are under the age of 18 and riding in the back of the tuck, the driver of the vehicle might have to pay a fine between $25 to $500. There are certain exceptions as well, which are as follows:
- operating a vehicle that is the only vehicle owned or operated by the members of a household
- operating the vehicle in a hayride permitted by the governing body of or a law enforcement agency of each county or municipality in which the hayride will occur
- operating the vehicle to transport farmworkers from one field to another field on a farm-to-market road, ranch-to-market road, or county road outside a municipality
- operating the vehicle on a beach
So if you are to ride in the back of a truck, make sure your passenger is over the age of 18!